The band's eighth album Cinema is due for release on 14th May 2021. Check out the trailers below.

Fun trailers for the forthcoming album.


[some day, it will be shiny]

We won't lie, this video was pretty cheap

It is rumoured that the budget for this gem exceeded 4 thousand Yen!

A special tent was needed for all the workers on this 2018 trailer production

The $3mn budget for this 2014 video ensured the production team could experiment with different camera angles

It's not often a tune accidentally syncs up with a 37 year old dance scene

The insanely expensive 2012 video included a team of 43 highly paid editors


You can buy the tunes on all major platforms

There's no merch here, but if you want something we'll think about doing it


Virtual Trio are a group of Irish musicians formed in 2008. They have released seven albums and five singles since 2012's Grief Proof Pauper. Their eighth album Cinema is due for release in May 2021

The group played together for the first time in 2017, after nearly 10 years of working together across continents.

Their 2012 debut album Grief Proof Pauper was the culmination of 4 years of jamming, with the finishing touches applied from multiple continents after economic chaos and emigration got in the way. For their 2014 album Departures, all music was improvised and recorded in Ireland on 2nd March 2013.

From 2015 the group focused on releasing singles. 2015's Fishbowl was augmented with Dexter Gordon's timeless words, Noam Chomsky performed vocals on 2016's Doing Great while confirming that it "sounds fine", and the 2016 instrumental Retain was followed in 2017 by the more relaxed Reprise for Tidal Swarm.

In 2018 the group released 3 albums and a single to celebrate a decade of fun - a few tunes, some chillout and a bag of madness. The group refined their production for the 2020 album Six, and in 2021 nailed the meditaton-hiphop-punk-hillbilly-rock-jazz genre with the release of Vile Circus Body Scan.

The band members are Brian West (Vocals, Guitars), Brendan Tuite (Guitars, Keys, Programming, Vocals), James Jones (Bass, Keys) and Alan Maguire (Lead Guitar, Keys, Bass). Additional players: Ian McTigue and Anthony Darby (Drums) and Cian O Cinnseala (guitar, vocals, Bass).


You can connect with the band via any of the platforms in the footer below